The Play’s the Thing Wherein I’ll Catch the Conscience of the King


I was asked once why I never comment on entertainment and actors on my blog. The answer is….
I’m not really that interested. I might comment on a movie I like or the quality of someone’s acting but as for the lives of the stars, I don’t care. I don’t know them and most of them are people I would not care to know anyhow. Prime examples are Tom Cruise who acts quite well but believes in little green men and takes fits on Oprah. He is up there with Charleton Heston who is a great actor but social nut job, who thinks it is okay for everyone to carry a gun. As for who is screwing whom again I don’t care. It’s their sex life if they want to date goats I don’t care so long as they can act. Even better if the goats could act.
I respect a great actor but I tend to place more value in the plot and depiction than the individual actors performance. As Hamlet says in Shakespeare’s play of the same name. “ I’ll have grounds More relative than this—the play’s the thing Wherein I’ll catch the conscience of the King.”
Not the acting alone but the play in its entirety is the thing that catches the conscience.
Why because :
“All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players:
They have their exits and their entrances;
And one man in his time plays many parts.”

Shakespeare’s As You Like It.

Leave a Reply

