No Racism Allowed. EVER !


Luckily people on this Blog have tended to be polite. I have only ever had to ban three people over the last 4 or so years that this blog has been active. On another Blog I co-edit however I have seen more than my fair share of verbal abuse. So recently I quit editing. The crap was getting too thick to cut through with any type of logic, and the abuse was just a constant source of migraines. So I will be devoting more time to this Blog. It has lagged a bit of late.

That said, I know a few followers from the other unmentionable blog have figured out that I write here as well. If you are thinking of commenting here, here are some words I NEVER want to see used on this Blog as an insult, to anyone alive dead or fictitious. Remember a Blogger on his / her Blog is God. You use these words as insults you get BANNED plain and simple.

Commie, Nigger, Wop, Chink, Rag-head, Spic, Kike, Wet Back, Frog, Kraut, Fag, Dyke, Lesbo, Jap, nip, pinko, Queer, Dogen, Kaffir, honky, White trash etc… or any other Racist Crap.

Get the Idea ? If not GET LOST !

7 thoughts on “No Racism Allowed. EVER !

  1. And for you Free speech (AKA Free Hate) types don’t even bother to use this as an excuse I am not American I don’t believe in free speech without common sense limitations. You do not have the right to hurt someone with your actions or your words that is what it means to be Canadian.

  2. I absolutely agree that you should be the “God” of your own blog, but I’m just curious about your use of the word “racist.”

    You say that the following words will not be tolerated: “Commie, Nigger, Wop, Chink, Rag-head, Spic, Kike, Wet Back, Frog, Kraut, Fag, Dyke, Lesbo, Jap, nip, pinko, Queer, Dogen, Kaffir, honky, White trash etc… or any other Racist Crap.”

    Yet you yourself use similar words in your own blog: “Of course all the right-wing anti global warming crazies …” and “all you anti global warming freaks …” were found sitting directly below this one.

    You claim that you do not have the right to “hurt” someone with your words, yet you do so freely and apparently without impunity. Does that make you “not a Canadian”?

    Don’t worry, I won’t be coming back to bother you. I’m not expecting a response. I just couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw this.

  3. Barb R – How is “right-wing anti global warming crazies …” and “all you anti global warming freaks …” Racist in any way. This is a critiism of Ideologies not races? Admittedly “commie” is more a ideological criticism but if used as a criticism of the ideal I wouldn’t sensor it but all too often it is used to discribe any eastern European. There is nothing wrong with criticising Ideologies and there is NO similarity to racist wording. Criticisng is not the issue prejudice of a race is. There is good reason to be angry at people that are contributing to the distruction of the planet, not a person because of thier race or skin colour. And yes I think there is ample evidence that people who refuse to see the obvious are deluded.

  4. Barb – I wasn’t criticising angry words I was criticising racism. I think you missed the point. Please feel free to point out any real example of racism you find on my Blog.

  5. I haven’t really read much of your blog – it was hard to get past your disdain for us right wing crazies – so I don’t know if you’re a racist or not. I do notice that it’s been thrown around willy-nilly for so long that it certainly doesn’t have the impact it once did.

    The part that did catch my attention, however, was the “You do not have the right to hurt someone with your actions or your words that is what it means to be Canadian.”

    You’ve hurt me by calling me a right-wing crazy. My hurt apparently doesn’t count.

    And BTW, “queer” isn’t a bad word anymore. Just check any university.

    Thank you for your thoughts. I appreciate the rational discussion.

  6. Sorry if your offended by the idea that I believe that anyone that believes that global warming is a myth is somewhat delusional. Sorry that is not an insult its an opinion. In my opinion the idea that global warming (caused by man) is not happening is crazy, there is far to much evidence to the contrary. Global warming is a fact, no credible scientist has said otherwise. The European Space Agency wouldn’t have just spent $148 million to put a satilite up to moniter the effects of it, if there was no Global warming. It is not entirely proven that man is the cause (I think he/she is though) Combining the obvious right wing belief that Global Warming Science is a loonie lefty plot with anti-AGW, gave me the combined right wing crazies. This was not directed at you personally. I have been called left wing loonie before. I am actually very proud of that moniker. Being referred to as right wing crazy is just expressive of a persons distaste for your political opinion not hate. I don’t know if you are trying to speak against my belief in limiting hate speech by saying I do it to (a logical fallacy BTW) or are you really that sensitive about your political beliefs. If you are hurt by it think how much more hurt you would be by the irrational racist slings I mentioned. You or I can change our beliefs an Black man can’t change the colour of his skin. As for your comment that queer is not a bad word, you are not entirely correct, used in general reference it is not bad but I was referring to its use as an “insult” I said as much. If you hear someone yell “Hey Queer” do you really seriously think a gay person would not be hurt by it? Just as a Jewish person is offended by someone snearing the word JEW ! as an insult. I think it was the best thing the gay community ever did to embrace the word queer and thus remove the stigma attached to it, but used as an insult it is still a Bad word. I am not sure why you mentioned that I should “check any university” as mainstream media uses Queer in its general reference more often. Or are you somehow erroneously assuming I don’t have a university degree. If that is the case you are wrong. I graduated with my BA in Honours History (Cum Laude) in 2001 from the University of Ottawa. And yes I am crazy enough to use my real name online so if you like feel free to check that. You mentioned that right wing crazies “doesn’t have the impact it once did.” I don’t understand that as I am almost fifty and never in my life has right wing crazies ever had any sort of hate attached to it, even the post Mcarthy era which I lived through to some degree no one was predjudice against right wing beleifs. Nice attempt to turn the table. There is a big difference between hate speech an emotional rhetoric.

  7. Bill wrote: “Sorry if your offended by the idea that I believe that anyone that believes that global warming is a myth is somewhat delusional. Sorry that is not an insult its an opinion.”

    You don’t have to be sorry, especially since I’m not really offended. It’s just that you seem quite happy to disparage and insult a right-winger, but absolutely forbid anyone to offend those on your “special” list. I just find it odd, is all.

    I read your thoughts about global warming with great interest. You are about my age, which means we were both teenagers in the 1970s, when David Suzuki had us all convinced that global cooling was coming and we were all going to die.

    I’ve got a warehouse full of parkas, if you’re buyin’…

    Follow the money, Bill. Suzuki, Gore, the U.N., East Anglia. Just follow the money. You give them far too much credit if you really believe they give a rat’s ass about us or this planet.

    For the record, I’m not saying I believe or disbelieve in global warming. Only that I do not give a great deal of credence to the hysteria surrounding anthropogenic global warming. Big difference there. Sometimes there’s global warming. Sometimes there’s global cooling. That’s what the climate does. It changes. With or without us.

    As for the reference I made to the word “Queer” being accepted in universities, thank you for providing me with your credentials. I’m impressed. Actually, no, I’m not. I’m just being polite.

    Me? I barely squeaked through high school. Was married to a Ph.D. who was brilliant in his field, but dumber than dirt when it came to the rest of “real” life, so I’m not easily impressed by the letters that follow ones name. If anything, I tend to regard those with a higher degree with far more suspicion and skepticism than the rest of the general population. I suppose that makes me a bigot, but I’m okay with that.

    My lack of pedigree aside, I do remember seeing the term “Queer” being bandied about quite freely in the university arena. A quick Google search takes us to University LGBT/Queer Programs in both Canada and the U.S., the Columbia Queer Alliance, Purdue Queer Student Union, Harvard College Queer Student Alliance, and several tens of thousands of others. It’s obviously no big deal to them, yet we still tippy toe around it like they are so tender and delicate. I think everyone would do well to grow a thicker skin.

    That’s it for me.

    It was a pleasure chatting with you and I wish you a terrific weekend, despite the soggy weather it looks like we’re in for. On the bright side, we won’t have to mow the lawn this weekend.

Leave a Reply

