The Parable of the Pharisee and the Tax Collector


square-large-stamp

I was recently cruising Blog space for a few laughs at the expense of the hard right. As usually I was not disappointed to find something to laugh at.

I came across a rampant Rightwing nutJob Blog with hundreds of semi offensive cartoons some racist but most just vulgar or violent.

The Biggest laugh however was the fact the Blogger used the following Bible passage as his slogan:

Luke 18:9-14 (New International Version)
The Parable of the Pharisee and the Tax Collector
9 To some who were confident of their own righteousness and looked down on everybody else, Jesus told this parable: 10″Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. 11The Pharisee stood up and prayed about[a] himself: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other men—robbers, evildoers, adulterers—or even like this tax collector. 12I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.’ 13″But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his
breast and said, ‘God, have mercy on me, a sinner.’ 14″I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.”

Lets take this from a true right wing perspective.

1. The right is anti-taxes and sympathy for tax collectors or parties that would tax the public higher is not really on their list of qualities.

2. Of the two sides of the political spectrum who claims to be righteous more often the left or the bible wielding right, notice the bible wielding left like myself can also be a bit self righteous but I don’t claim god bestowed perfection as often.

3. Have you ever heard of a right-wing politician calling himself “a sinner.’“ I think I hear them apply that moniker more often than wear it.

Leave a Reply

