I Work With God or God Works With Me (a Presidential Perspective)


U.S. presidential hopefuls John McCain and Barack Obama took part in a forum on ethics and faith at the Saddleback Community megachurch in Lake Forest, California

 

When asked what it meant to be a Christian, Obama talked about God and , McCain Talked about himself.

“Explaining what it meant to him to be a Christian, Obama talked of “walking humbly with our God: I know that I don’t walk alone, and I know that if I can get myself out of the way, that I can maybe carry out in some small way what he intends.”
McCain was also asked what it meant to be a Christian, and said: “It means I’m saved and
forgiven.” He also recalled how his religious faith sustained him in the face of torture as a prisoner of war in Vietnam. “It took a lot of prayer,” he said.”

Obama discussed what God could do through him, McCain talked about how God helped him.

The difference is Obama sees God as working for society and McCain as God working in the individual. The republican party is all about individual freedom and the Democrats about the rights of the many. It is interesting to see how this goes down to their religious beliefs as well. This is what I hope is the case or is McCain just selfish looking for what God can do for him. I’m not impressed with people that think personal salvation is more important than the salvation of mankind.

Leave a Reply

