I Am Sorry Fred (belated)


I owe Fred McFeely Rogers an apology !

For years I have called the man down for not respecting children’s intelligence.

I have always dissed Mr Rogers (of Mr Rogers Neighbourhood) because he seemed to talk down to children. In reality he was actually talking at a level for all children which tended to make him look like he was talking down to them but he was in actuality a very remarkable man.

See the following link to 15 reasons Mr. Rogers was best neighbor ever (thanks to Jack)

I especially like reason number 5. “He might have been the most tolerant American ever. Mister Rogers seems to have been almost exactly the same off-screen as he was onscreen. As an ordained Presbyterian minister, and a man of tremendous faith, Mister Rogers preached tolerance first. ”

Whenever he was asked to castigate non-Christians or gays for their differing beliefs, he would instead face them and say, with sincerity, “God loves you just the way you are.” Often this provoked ire from fundamentalists.

Unfortunately Fred died in 2003, but I would hope he would accept this apology.

2 thoughts on “I Am Sorry Fred (belated)

  1. Surprise by what? the story about 15 reasons Mr. Rogers was best neighbour ever or the fact that I apologised to him? (sarcasm intended)

    I agree it left me thinking how unassuming and remarkable the man actually was, I could handle him as a neighbour.

Leave a Reply

