Nathaniels’s in Owen sound, run by Dan Hillard Fires Employee for Shaving Her Head for Charity.


There is one good thing about being a blogger you can be honest if you so choose.

CTV reported on a woman who was fired from her job as a waitress because she participated in a charitable event and shaved her head.

She told her employer that she was going to do this and the day she returned to work with a shaved head he fired her.

Just so you know I am not advocating that you refrain from going to Nathaniels’s in Owen sound, run by Dan Hillard, but I won’t be going there as I tend not to frequent establishments with ethics I do not agree with.

Might I suggest that as a reputable establishment that the Dan Hillard shave his head an apologize to Stacey Fearnall

7 thoughts on “Nathaniels’s in Owen sound, run by Dan Hillard Fires Employee for Shaving Her Head for Charity.

  1. I certainly hope that Dan Hillard and his family never require cancer treatment at anytime. If they do it should be denied them on principal. If you cannot support cancer fundraising in this simple manner, then you should be be able to get the treatment that this fundraising supplies. I am appalled at his actions and disgusted as I have had several members of my family die from cancer and have supported my employees on any fundraising that they have done for any cause. It is a moral and ethical issue and Dan Hillard has proven that he has no morals or ethics at all. His total lack of empathy just shows how some people should never be bosses!!!!

  2. I am so disgusted about this whole thing. It took the focus off of the real reason this happened – Cancer. And also very disgusted because I am a 28 year old woman who has been bald almost all of my life, due to Alopecia. This manager needs to sit back and think about cancer and other medical conditions and realize they can hit home. If I lived in Ontario, I would come sit in his restaurant bald and beautiful!! Also to his customers that were “appalled” by Stacey, they need to do the same. I hope someone who works there sees this, perhaps the manager himself. he is the perfect example of an ignorant person. And I hope his restaurant goes right down the drain!!

  3. Everything that’s been said here is one-sided. Here is a different perspective. I don’t want to eat at a restaurant where I have reason to believe that the servers or kitchen staff are sick. Cancer is not contagious, but it is my choice to not have food handed to me by someone who has it, which may well be the case with a woman with a shaved head. I would tend to lose my appetite, which is the last thing anybody wants at a restaurant.

    Similarly, I would refuse to be served by somebody with body piercings or tattoos, which is probably why I don’t seem to encounter it in restaurants. A shaved head… OK, sure, but where does it stop? Is a shaved head and a hidden tattoo / piercing OK? What about a genital piercing? Would you want your food handled by someone with a genital piercing that may be infected?

    I believe people who have such piercings have suspect hygiene and poor judgment. No, better for a restaurant owner to insist on hiring employees who are honest, and who are willing to state that they have no body modifications. The owner may approve, or may have no opinion, but it is not “ethics” that is the issue, but rather sensible business practices.

    The bottom line: Since it is unlikely that people will attend a restaurant specifically because some staff have visible piercings, but it IS likely that some will not patronize an establishment with staff that does, the decision should be a no-brainer and not up for discussion: Do not apply here if you have piercings or tattoos, hidden or otherwise. It is perceived as unsanitary by some people.

    In this case the owner would have been smarter to put up a sign or some other indication that a fundraiser was in progress, however he did discuss it with her and told her to come back when her hair grew back. He then bowed to public pressure when media became involved and offered to reinstate her, which accomplished zero, because she found work elsewhere and many people have since stated they would be staying away anyway.

    It’s easy to say, having all the facts, that you would refuse to patronize this restaurant. But if you walk into a place where the female servers have biker tattoos / appear to be bull-daggers, have multiple piercings, are walking around scratching themselves, etc., etc., etc., you might just turn around and leave. The only question is, where do YOU draw the line. I know where I do.

  4. Okay Roger

    Normally I tend to be polite, but your input requires a more frank response. You are entirely correct on two points only, everything here is one sided and it is very likely that the restaurateur thought as you do. That said it makes neither of you right. I find it impossible to look at this situation from your perspective, as I can’t conceive of myself being quite so narrow in my perception of the way things are.
    First of all you state that, “Cancer is not contagious, but it is [your] choice to not have food handed to [you] by someone who has it.” So in your mind someone who is sick but not contagious is not capable of serving you food? You also tend to “lose [your] appetite” when in the presence of sick people? This leads me to believe two things; 1. You discriminate against the sick purely on the basis of looks. 2. Although it may be a common thing you have the misconceived notion that your reaction is a normal human response. It is not, you’re in the minority as I will point out later.
    There is no logical reason that someone that looks sick can’t serve food unless they are contagious or oozing puss, if anything the lack of hair ensures you won’t get any in your food. And just because people discriminate and tend to act poorly does not mean it is right to do so. Also if I was a restaurateur I hope I would have the courage to put respect for human dignity over the almighty dollar. As for anyone that complained that my waitress was bald, my first response would be to ask THEM to leave. My integrity is more important to me then their money.
    As for your comments about body piercings and tattoos, my above argument applies and your assertion about not “encounter[ing them] in restaurants” well I guess you haven’t been to restaurants in a long time or you live in rural Midwestern America, where social trends arrive late. I can’t really argue this point with you as I don’t know what back-water you come from, but here in Ottawa Canada I see tattoos and body piercings on waiters and waitresses all the time. The waiter that served us at Sardis in NYC had an eyebrow ring. In Europe there are more waiters and waitresses with tattoos an piercings than those without them. I can anticipate your next response that I don’t eat in high class establishments well there you would be wrong although I tend to be frugal so we don’t eat out much but when we do the bill is rarely below the $100 mark. In Ottawa I would recommend the Urban Pear, Wilfrids or Trattoria Italia. I tend to go for Italian so Trattoria Italia is my favourite.
    And as to your odd comment on genital piercings. I would hope that the waiter washes his hands after he scratches his genitals, piercing or not. I also hope the waiter is not putting his fingers in my food as food service people in Canada are not allowed to touch the food without gloves if they handle cash, which is less sanitary then their genitals. Secondly unless the waiter serves food nude this is a non-issue. All this tells me is you don’t know much about hygiene.
    Your belief that”people who have such piercings have suspect hygiene and poor judgment” is absurd beyond belief. Combining tattoos body piercings and poor hygiene is fallacious, it is like saying everyone that drives a Harley is a drug dealer. (Which I suspect you might think anyhow so this argument might be wasted on you)
    Ethics IS the issue, here contrary to your claim that discrimination on this basis is “sensible business practices” I am sure that the same logic you apply for your definition of “sensible business practices” also applied in the southern states before the human rights movement there. Allowing blacks to eat at a white restaurant may have driven away business but given that being a good human is more important than the almighty dollar yes I would drive away business or get out of the business before I sacrificed my own integrity. From a Christian perspective that is what I am sure God would want me to do.
    And it is hard to argue there is a difference between allowing blacks into your establishment or people with tattoos, as it is in both cases and issue of skin colour.
    Your “bottom line” is not true anymore most people, at least in modern urban areas couldn’t care less what the waiter has in the way of piercings or tattoos so long as they do a good job. Your logic is wrong I don’t know anyone (and would not want to know anyone) that would make a decision on a restaurant based on the piercings or tattoos of a waiter or waitress.
    Sorry Roger but only the very old or very conservative perceives body piercings as unsanitary anymore. Oh yes and by the way I wish you could see my left ear in the picture on my profile. Yes Roger I have an earring. I have worked part-time as a waiter with my earring and no one has ever complained, no one has ever even mentioned it and in the three job interviews I have had for catering jobs it has never been an issue I got each job. Now I am a university educated professional making a very decent income by anyone’s standards. I am I hope sanitary I shower shave and wash my hands before I leave the washroom, and surprise I work in the in the health field, and I STILL HAVE AN EARRING. I think you need to get out of your limited reality and look around. I work with professionals that all make over $70,000 or more a year many make over $100,000 and %30 I would say have tattoos or piercings. Stop bucking the trend Roger you need a tattoo or an earring.
    Your note that the restaurateur “bowed to public pressure when media became involved and offered to reinstate her, which accomplished zero, because she found work elsewhere and many people have since stated they would be staying away anyway.” Only shows me that his choice to fire or suggest she take leave without pay (same damn thing) was far from “sensible business practices” In this case his adherence to old discriminatory practices only cost him his business how is this “sensible business practices”?
    To answer your question “where do YOU draw the line.” I know where it is I refuse to eat in restaurants where the owner discriminates against cancer victims. Victims like my mother, my sister, my father, my aunt, and my grandmother. I refuse to let the visual appearance of people with tattoos and piercings, be they way we determine how well they can serve food. And lastly I refuse to eat with PEOPLE LIKE YOU who think it is better to hide the ill away from public view.

  5. Oh and Roger one more thing – You say this accomplished “zero” well your wrong.

    I think Mr Hillard learned a very good lesson, I would say the man was given an economical spanking. That is how business works.

Leave a Reply

